日本人如何慶祝生日 | 5個特殊的日本生日傳統

日本人怎麼過生日

我們的學習日本文化系列呈現 日本人如何慶祝生日.繼續閱讀以了解日本的生日慶祝傳統

我喜歡慶祝我的生日。這是一年中最特別的日子之一,我可以在一個地方見到所有我最喜歡的人。我喜歡從親人那裡得到所有可愛的生日祝福。我也喜歡舉辦派對和收到精美的禮物。我很確定你也喜歡生日,對吧?

但是,隨著年齡的增長,您是否一直在慶祝生日?這個問題的答案肯定取決於你來自哪個國家。在西方國家,生日被認為是一個人一生中最重要的日子,即使這個人是長者,也會慶祝生日。然而,這個傳統在每個國家都不盡相同。

日本慶祝生日的方式與其他國家不同。我整理了這份指南,向您展示日本人如何慶祝生日。繼續閱讀以了解有關日本生日傳統和習俗的所有信息。您會驚訝地發現日本的生日慶祝活動與您通常習慣的不同。

在日本,直到第二次世界大戰之後才慶祝生日。這是因為 1950 年代後西方習俗和傳統的湧入。

在此期間,西方時尚、美食以及聖誕節和復活節等慶祝活動盛行。在這種湧入之後,另一個仍然存在的習俗是慶祝一個人的出生日。

日本在 1950 年代之前不慶祝生日的一個原因是,日本傾向於更多地關注群體而不是個人。在日本,生日被視為私人和個人的事情。

最初,生日慶祝活動是一個在國外更占主導地位的概念。早些時候,日本人慶祝的唯一生日是元旦。日本人相信他們在這一天變老了,大家一起慶祝。

在日本,元旦被認為是極其重要的一天,直到今天。在元旦,日本的習俗是給兒童和青少年錢作為祝賀禮物。

然而,在日本過去的 70 年中,生日的概念發生了變化。你有興趣知道日本人如何慶祝生日嗎?

日本人如何慶祝生日

現代日本生日慶祝活動

如今,日本主要慶祝兒童的生日。生日那天,父母組織一個小型聚會,讓孩子們切蛋糕。生日蛋糕通常是帶有奶油的白色維多利亞海綿。蛋糕上使用的蠟燭數量取決於孩子的年齡。

生日快樂歌曲也在黑暗中用英語演唱。唱這首歌時,孩子必須吹蠟燭。生日歌是用英語唱的,因為沒有日語對應。這種儀式在西方慶祝生日的方式中很常見。

然而,這並不意味著日本的成年人有自己的慶祝生日和享受這一天的方式。對於大人,朋友們為生日男孩或女孩舉辦派對。這是一種習慣性的儀式。

這次慶祝活動的費用完全由組織聚會的朋友和家人支付。這完全有道理,因為它會成為送給生日女孩或身體的禮物。

有關的: 日本人如何表示尊重

日本是怎麼過生日的?

日本人怎麼過生日

孩子們在慶祝生日時是最幸運的。父母確保孩子們真正享受他們特殊的日子。為生日的孩子組織了一個小型聚會。慶祝活動以蛋糕和蠟燭結束。根據孩子或父母的喜好,設計蛋糕——它可以很簡單,也可以很複雜。當孩子在燈光全部熄滅的情況下切蛋糕時,會唱一首強制性的生日快樂歌。正如在西方文化中發生的那樣,父母會給孩子一份禮物。您還會看到有幾個生日派對非常奢侈。

日本孩子的第一個生日派對

日本的第一個生日傳統

日本孩子一歲生日的傳統與你在美國看到的大不相同。美國人在他們孩子的第一個生日那天砸了蛋糕。

然而,在日本,孩子們會攜帶或踩在被稱為 issho mochi 的年糕上。年糕重約四磅,是孩子們對生日慶祝傳統的介紹。

這個傳統被認為會帶來好運。日本遵循的另一個第一個生日傳統稱為erabitori。這是一個傳統,讓孩子選擇能代表他或她未來的物品。

例如,如果孩子選擇計算器,則可能意味著孩子具有出色的未來商業能力。

有關的: 日本人如何稱呼父母

七五三的日本傳統

Shichi-Go-San 的直譯是七、五和三。這是日本的傳統,父母帶著他們 7 歲的女孩、5 歲的男孩和 3 歲孩子的男女都去神社。

這些孩子們收到了一種叫做千歲糖的千年糖果作為生日禮物。在這一天,這些生日的孩子們穿著傳統的日本服飾。這是一個傳統,在 11 月 15 日進行,這被認為是一個吉祥的日子。這一傳統確保了兒童的健康和成長。

有關的: 日本人如何寫日期

在日本,成年人如何慶祝他們的生日?

日本成人生日

孩子們的派對相當奢侈,大人的生日慶祝卻是相當低調的事情。朋友或家人可以組織生日聚會,他們必須支付一切費用。

過生日的男孩或女孩不支付任何費用,而這個生日慶祝活動就像是送給他們的禮物。然而,這個慶祝活動不是在生日那天進行,而是圍繞它進行。

有關的: 日本人吃飯前說什麼

日本夫婦如何慶祝他們的生日?

日本情侶過生日

在日本成年人出生的那一天,他們想與重要的其他人一起慶祝。這個重要的其他人可能是他們的配偶或女朋友/男朋友。這一天,情侶們一起出去交換禮物。他們在這個特殊的日子做什麼,因人而異。他們也可能決定去吃一頓浪漫的晚餐或一日遊。

但是,您不必在這個慶祝活動上大肆揮霍。一個簡單的蛋糕和一張卡片可以讓這一天變得非常特別。在這一天,您還可以享受多種實惠的體驗,讓生日變得特別。你可以去浪漫的散步、一頓美餐或一日遊。所有這些都可以讓這一天變得特別。

日本一些特殊的成人生日傳統

就像美國成年人有一些特殊的生日一樣,日本也有。在美國,18 歲和 21 歲被認為是成年生日。對於日本人來說,20歲就是年齡了。這裡有一些特殊的日本生日傳統。

日本的 20 歲生日傳統

當您年滿 20 歲時,您將被視為日本的成年人。這個生日在 1 月的第二個星期一慶祝。這一天舉行的成人禮被稱為 進不嗨

在這一天,政府會向年滿 20 歲的人發出正式信函。為了紀念這一天,女性要穿上特殊的和服。慶祝活動包括演講和表演,每個 20 歲的人都會參加。

日本的 60 歲生日傳統

日本另一個重要的生日慶祝活動是成年人 60 歲。這是一個非常重要的日子,因為它像徵著一個生肖週期的結束和重生。在這一天,這個家庭舉辦了一個回歸日曆生日。在這個特殊的場合,過生日的男人或女人會在他們的著裝中提供一個特殊的墊子、紅色無袖背心和扇子。您還會在蛋糕上看到白鶴或紅龜等裝飾品。

日本的 77 歲生日傳統

日本生日派對

77 歲生日是日本另一個特別的生日慶祝活動。為什麼你會問?因為這被認為是一個快樂和幸福的時代。任何能活到這個時代的人都是相當幸運的。它被認為是一種成年禮或ga no iwai。

日本的 88 歲生日傳統

88歲生日也被稱為“米”生日,因為88的性格看起來很像米粒。日本人慶祝88歲生日的原因是大米被視為善良的象徵。紀念這一天的傳統禮物包括帶鴿子的手杖。

日本的 99 歲生日傳統

日本的 99 歲生日慶祝活動被稱為“白色”生日。因為它被稱為白色生日,你會看到大多數客人穿著白色,並贈送日本傳統的長壽生日禮物。

日本的生日傳統!

您是否發現日本人慶祝生日的方式和他們遵循的各種傳統有所不同?如果您住在日本或有特別的人住在日本,請不要忘記這些生日習俗和傳統。祝你生日快樂!

還閱讀

  1. 為什麼學日語這麼難
  2. 日本刀是如何製造的
日本人如何表示尊重

日本人如何表示尊重 |向日本人表示尊重的 11 個技巧

最好的貓動漫

10 最佳貓動漫 2021 |有史以來最喜歡的動漫貓

in

How Japanese Celebrate Birthdays | 5 Special Japanese Birthday Traditions

how japanese celebrate birthday

Our learning japanese culture series presents how Japanese celebrate birthdays. Read on to find out about birthday celebration traditions in Japan

I love celebrating my birthday. It is one of the most special days of the year where I get to meet all my favorite persons in one place. I love getting all the lovely birthday wishes from loved ones. I also love throwing parties and getting wonderful presents. I am pretty sure you love birthdays too, right? 

However, do you keep celebrating your birthday as you get older? The answer to this definitely depends on the country you are from. In western countries, birthdays are considered to be the most important day in a person’s life and birthdays are celebrated even if the person is an elder. However, this tradition is not the same in every country. 

The way birthdays are celebrated in Japan is different from how it is done in other countries. I have put together this guide to show you how the Japanese celebrate birthdays. Continue reading to know all about Japanese birthday traditions and customs. You will be surprised to see how the birthday celebration in Japan changes from what you are normally used to.

Birthdays, in Japan, were not celebrated until after the Second World War. This happened because of the influx of western customs and traditions after the 1950s. 

During this time, there was a spread of western fashion, food, and celebrations such as Christmas and Easter. Yet another custom that stuck around after this influx was the celebration of one’s day of birth. 

The one reason why Japan did not celebrate birthdays before the 1950s is because Japan tends to focus more on the group rather than on the individual. In Japan, birthdays are seen as something that is private and personal. 

Birthday celebrations, initially, were a concept that was more dominant in foreign countries. Earlier, the only birthday that the Japanese celebrated was New Year’s Day. It was believed by the Japanese that they got older on this day and everybody celebrated together. 

In Japan, New Year’s day is considered to be an extremely important day, even to this day. On New Year’s day, it is a customary practice in Japan to give children and teenagers money as a congratulatory gift. 

However, the concept of birthdays has changed in the last 70 years in Japan. Are you interested to know how the Japanese celebrate birthdays?   

How Japanese Celebrate Birthdays

Modern Japanese Birthday Celebrations

These days, mainly children’s birthdays are celebrated in Japan. For the birthdays, parents organize a small gathering and make the kids cut cakes. The cake that is got for birthdays is usually a white Victoria sponge with cream. The number of candles used on the cake depends on the age that the child is turning.

The Happy Birthday song is also sung in English in the dark. When the song is sung, the child has to blow the candles. The birthday song is sung in English because there is no Japanese equivalent. This ritual is quite common to the way birthdays are celebrated in the west. 

However, this does not mean that the adults in Japan have their own way of celebrating their birthdays and enjoying this day. For the adults, the friends organize a party for the birthday boy or girl. This is a customary ritual.

The bill for this celebration is completely paid for by the friends and family who have organized the party. This completely makes sense because it then becomes a gift for the birthday girl or body. 

Related: How Japanese Show Respect

How kids’ birthdays celebrated in Japan?

how japanese celebrate birthdays

Children are the luckiest when it comes to celebrating birthdays. Parents ensure that the kids really enjoy their special day. A small gathering is organized for the birthday child. The celebration is complete with cakes and candles. Depending on the likes of the child or parent, the cake is designed – it can be quite simple or quite elaborate. A mandatory happy birthday song is sung when the child is cutting the cake with the lights all dimmed out. And as it happens in western culture, the parents give the child a gift. You will also see that there are several birthday parties that are quite extravagant. 

Japanese child’s first birthday party

japanese first birthday tradition

When a Japanese child turns one, the birthday tradition is quite different from the one you see in America. The Americans smash the cake on their child’s first birthday. 

However, in Japan, children carry or step on a rice cake, which is known as issho mochi. The rice cake weighs about four pounds and is the child’s introduction to the tradition of birthday celebrations. 

This tradition is considered to bring in good luck. Yet another first birthday tradition that is followed in Japan is called the erabitori. This is a tradition that lets the child choose an item that would signify his or her future. 

For instance, if a child chooses a calculator, it could mean that the child has excellent future business powers. 

Related: How Japanese Call Their Parents

The Japanese tradition of Shichi-Go-San

The literal translation of Shichi-Go-San is seven, five, and three. This is a Japanese tradition in which parents take their seven-year-old girls, five-year-old boys, and both sexes of three-year-old children to a shrine.

These children get a thousand-year-old candy called Chitose ame as a birthday gift. On this day, these birthday children wear traditional Japanese dress. This is a tradition that is done on the 15th of November, which is considered to be an auspicious day. This tradition ensures the good health and growth of children. 

Related: How Japanese Write Dates

How do adults celebrate their birthdays in Japan?

japanese adult birthdays

While the children get quite an extravagant party, the birthday celebration of adults is quite a low-key affair. The friends or family members may organize a birthday party, and they have to pay for everything.

The birthday boy or girl does not pay for anything, and this birthday celebration is like a gift for them. However, this celebration is not done on the day of the birthday, but rather around it.

Related: What Japanese Say Before Eating

How Japanese couples celebrate their birthdays?

japanese couples birthday

On the day when a Japanese adult is born, they want to celebrate it with their significant others. This significant other could be their spouse or girlfriend/boyfriend. On this day, couples go out together and exchange gifts. What they do on this special day depends from person to person. They may also decide to go for a romantic dinner or have a day trip. 

However, you do not have to spend extravagantly on this celebration. A simple cake and a card can make the day very special. There are also several affordable experiences you can do on this day to make the birthday a special one. You can go for a romantic walk, a nice meal, or a day trip. All of these can make the day extra special.

Some special adult birthday traditions in Japan

Just like there are some special birthdays for adults in America, Japan has them too. In the US, 18 and 21 are considered to be coming-of-age birthdays. For the Japanese, 20 is the age. Here are some special Japanese birthday traditions. 

20th birthday tradition in Japan

When you reach the age of 20, you are considered an adult in Japan. This birthday is celebrated on the second Monday of January. The coming-of-age ceremony that is performed on this day is known as seijin no hi.

On this day, the government sends out official letters to those who are turning 20. Women, to mark this day, wear a special kimono. The celebration includes speeches and performances, which are attended by every 20-year-old. 

60th birthday tradition in Japan

Another important birthday celebration in Japan is when an adult turns 60. This is a very significant day as it symbolizes the completion of a zodiac cycle and rebirth. On this day, the family hosts a return calendar birthday. For this special occasion, the birthday man or woman includes a special cushion, red sleeveless vest, and fan as a part of their attire. You will also see decorations such as white cranes or red turtles on the cake. 

77th birthday tradition in Japan

japanese birthday parties

Turning 77 is yet another special birthday celebration in Japan. Why you may ask? It is because this is considered to be an age where you are joyous and happy. Anybody who has lived to see this age is quite fortunate. It is considered a rite of passage or ga no iwai.

88th birthday tradition in Japan

The 88th birthday celebration is also known as ‘rice’ birthday because the character of 88 looks so similar to rice grains. The reason why the Japanese celebrate their 88th birthdays is that rice is seen as the symbol of goodness. The traditional gifts that mark this day include a walking stick with a pigeon.

99th birthday tradition in Japan

The 99th birthday celebration in Japan is known as the ‘white’ birthday. Because it is called the white birthday, you will see that most guests wear white and give traditional Japanese longevity birthday gifts.

Japanese birthday traditions! 

Did you find differences in the way the Japanese celebrate their birthdays and the various traditions they follow? If you live in Japan or have somebody special who lives in Japan, do not forget these birthday customs and traditions. Happy birthday to you!

Also Read

  1. Why Learning Japanese is Difficult
  2. How Japanese Swords Are Made
how japanese show respect

How Japanese Show Respect | 11 Tips on Showing Respect To A Japanese

best cat anime

10 Best Cat Anime 2021 | Favorite Anime Cats Of All Time