日本人為什麼要戴口罩|日本面具文化背後的 5 個有趣原因

為什麼日本人戴口罩

有沒有想過為什麼日本人總是在公共場合戴口罩?雖然由於最近的 COVID 大流行,戴外科口罩在世界各地變得流行,但這在日本並不是一個新趨勢。在冠狀病毒出現之前,日本人一直在公共場所戴口罩。

保護自己免受常見過敏原和污染的侵害,顯然是日本人戴口罩的原因之一。但日本人戴口罩的另一個原因也是為了保護他人免受戴口罩者可能攜帶的任何病原體的侵害。

一起來探究一下日本人到處戴口罩的原因吧!

日本人為什麼要戴口罩

在西方文化中,當人們看到有人戴著面具時,通常會認為他們生病了,但實際上它現在只是成為日本文化的一部分。而日本人戴口罩背後的原因不僅僅是出於健康安全原因,儘管健康也是日本戴口罩背後的主要問題。日本人戴口罩的5個理由。

#1 — 健康是日本人戴口罩的主要原因之一

如果你認為日本人戴口罩主要是為了保護自己免受病毒或疾病的侵害,那並不完全正確。一個更大的原因是通過防止自己的細菌傳播來保護他人。日本人即使是最輕微的流感也會更頻繁地戴口罩。

日本人在這樣一種文化中出生和長大,在這種文化中,他們不斷被教導要體諒他人的舒適。戴口罩來保護其他公眾只是這種心態的延伸。

日本人非常重視個人衛生。事實上,學校裡的孩子們很早就被教導並意識到這一點。如果你走過日本學校的大廳,你會看到貼滿了宣傳個人衛生重要性的圖表和信息圖表。

自願為學校同學提供午餐的學生被要求戴口罩。戴口罩根本不被認為是粗魯的。而且,如果你有輕微的病,不戴口罩,現在在日本被認為是不尊重的!

再加上日本是一個人口稠密的國家。這麼多人都被關在一個小區域內,疾病傳播的風險要高得多。這就是為什麼他們如此重視個人衛生。

相關:找出為什麼日本人如此喜歡吃生魚!真的那麼好吃還是文化問題?

#2 — 防止黃塵和花粉

口罩也是保護自己免受花粉粉塵侵害的好方法。我有花粉過敏症,而且會變得更糟,尤其是在春天。花粉顆粒非常大,因此口罩可以很好地過濾掉它。

如果你像我一樣患有哮喘或花粉過敏,那麼戴口罩是個好主意。事實上,日本新聞顯示,在早上跑步的日子裡,顆粒物讀數特別高,警告人們戴口罩。

#3——日本女性不化妝時戴口罩

除了與健康有關的日本人戴口罩的原因外,還有更簡單的原因。在日本,有些人在沒有時間化妝或只是為了掩蓋一些不好的粉刺的日子裡也會戴口罩。您可以通過戴口罩輕鬆掩蓋痤瘡疤痕、粉刺、皮疹——我的意思是,這是一個超級簡單的修復方法。如果我說我在幾個場合都沒有做過同樣的事情,那我就是在撒謊。

#4 — 有些人使用面具作為時尚配飾

日本人戴口罩這麼久,很快就成了時尚配飾!對於日本的很多人來說,戴口罩與健康或污染無關——它現在已經成為一種時尚宣言。根據日本新聞網站 News Post Seven 2011 年的一項調查,東京 100 人中有 30 人表示戴口罩與保護自己免受污染無關。

現在你會在市場上看到各種各樣的高級時裝面具。就像突出的 3-D 面具一樣,它們既時尚又實用——一塊石頭,兩隻鳥——你明白我的意思嗎?

日本covid口罩

除此之外,還有各種主題面具。如果您喜歡特定的電影或節目,您會發現帶有電影或節目主題的面具。比如這個蝙蝠俠主題的面膜

我應該在日本戴口罩嗎

有些人甚至說他們戴口罩是因為他們喜歡它給他們帶來的神秘外觀。對於其他一些人,它隱藏了他們的一半臉,所以他們喜歡戴口罩。

不管是什麼原因,關鍵是,如今越來越多的人出於與時尚相關的原因而不是與健康相關的原因戴口罩。

#5 — 日本有些人戴口罩以避免互動

總的來說,日本人是內向的,並且非常清楚他們如何被評判。如果你和日本人打過交道,你會發現我們大多數人本質上都很害羞。

為什麼日本人戴口罩

社交焦慮也是日本人戴口罩的原因之一。這是一種在你自己和社會其他人之間建立隔離的簡單方法。您可以輕鬆地經過您認識的人而不會被認出,並避免不必要的閒聊。

這其實也是我戴口罩的原因之一!

多年來,在街頭、地鐵甚至雜貨店看到日本人在公共場合戴著外科口罩已成為家常便飯。在日本的大街上不戴口罩是一件很奇怪的事情,這已經成為一種流行趨勢。

最終,一個潛在的商機被識別出來,帶有設計或品牌標誌的時尚面具充斥著市場。之後,這些口罩不僅是一項健康安全措施,還被視為時尚配飾。

金屬風扇?你會發現很多鑲嵌著黑色面具的人

日本人為什麼戴口罩

想要可愛的樣子嗎?戴著可愛的粉紅色面具,您可以輕鬆打造出可愛的洛麗塔女孩造型。

我應該在日本戴口罩嗎

或者,如果您是動漫迷,您還可以找到流行的動漫主題面具

日本人為什麼要摀嘴

在大流行 COVID-19 之前,日本人一直戴著口罩

日本人已經習慣了世界其他地方正在適應的新規範——一直戴著口罩。當西班牙流感在 20 世紀襲擊日本時,日本在該國造成 390,000 人死亡。除此之外,韓國和台灣也有數千人死亡。

當人們了解流感的傳播方式後,日本人就接受了戴口罩的教育,以保護他人和自己免於傳播或感染流感。對於那些買不起口罩的人,分發了報紙等教育材料,教他們如何在家製作口罩。

當日本面臨下一次全球大流行——COVID-19 時,日本人民已經戴上了口罩。雖然世界其他地方仍在適應每天戴口罩,但在日本,這已是家常便飯。而且不僅僅是為了保護自己免受流感的侵害。

日本哪裡可以買到口罩

您幾乎可以在日本的任何地方購買口罩。參觀最近的藥店、便利店、超市,甚至像唐吉訶德這樣的商店。你會發現所有類型、顏色和設計的面具。您可以按 5、10、15 或更多的方式購買。您將獲得一個大約(或低於)80 日元的一次性口罩。

為什麼口罩在日本如此受歡迎?

日本的每個人都戴口罩作為一種常見的禮貌,以避免傳播流感或其他症狀,如感冒和咳嗽。自 20 世紀西班牙流感襲擊日本以來,日本人一直戴著口罩。口罩在日本如此受歡迎的其他原因是:為了避免過敏,有些人甚至戴它只是為了遮臉,或者作為時尚配飾。

日本人戴口罩嗎?

在 COVID-19 襲擊世界之前,日本人一直戴著口罩。自 20 世紀西班牙流感爆發以來,這種文化就被灌輸給日本人。從那時起,日本人每天都繼續戴口罩,因為這有助於避免過敏、流感和其他一些傳染病的傳播。

還閱讀

  1. 為什麼學日語這麼難
  2. 為什麼日本人不會說英語
  3. 日本人口減少的原因
日本電子公司名單

日本電子公司名單 | 8個令人驚嘆的日本電子品牌

舊金山的頂級日本商店

在舊金山哪裡可以買到日本產品|舊金山 7 家最佳日本商店

in

Why Japanese People Wear Masks | 5 Interesting Reasons Behind Japanese Mask Culture

why japanese people wear masks

Ever wondered why Japanese people wear masks all the time in public? While wearing surgical masks has become popular all over the world due to the recent COVID pandemic but this isn’t a new trend in Japan. The Japanese people have been wearing masks in public places way before the coronavirus came into the picture. 

To protect themselves from common allergens and pollution is obviously one of the reasons why Japanese people wear masks. But another reason why Japanese wear masks is also to protect others from any pathogens that the mask wearer might be carrying. 

Let’s explore all the reasons why Japanese people wear masks everywhere!

Why Japanese People Wear Masks

In the Western culture, when someone is seen wearing a mask, it’s often considered that they’re sick but in actuality it’s now just become a part of the Japanese culture. And the reason behind why Japanese people wear masks is more than just for health safety reason, though health is also a major concern behind wearing masks in Japan. Here are 5 reasons why Japanese people wear masks. 

#1 — Health is one of the primary reasons why Japanese people wear masks 

If you think that the Japanese wear masks, majorly, to protect themselves from viruses or diseases, that’s not entirely true. A bigger reason is to protect others by preventing the spread of one’s own germs. The Japanese will wear a mask more often if they have even the slightest flu.

The Japanese people are born and brought up in a culture where they are constantly taught to be considerate towards others’ comfort. And wearing a mask to protect the rest of the public is just an extension of that mentality. 

The Japanese take personal hygiene very seriously. In fact, kids in schools are taught and made aware of this early on. If you walk through the halls of Japanese schools, you’ll see charts and infographics plastered all over the boards advocating the importance of personal hygiene.

Students who volunteered to serve lunch to their classmates at school were requested to wear masks. Wearing masks wasn’t considered rude at all. Moreover, if you’re slightly sick and you’re not wearing a mask, now that’s considered simply disrespectful in Japan!

And plus Japan is a densely populated country. And with so many people all boxed in a small area, risk of spread of diseases is way higher. Which is why they take personal hygiene so seriously.

Related: Find out why the Japanese love eating raw fish so much! Is it really that tasty or is it a culture thing?

#2 — Protection from Yellow Dust and pollen 

Masks are also a good way to protect yourself from pollen dust. I have pollen allergy and it gets worse especially during the spring. Pollen particles are quite large so a mask does a fairly good job of filtering it out. 

If you suffer from asthma or have pollen allergies like me then wearing a mask is a good idea. In fact, Japanese news shows that run in the morning hours actually have a particulate matter reading on days it is especially high, warning people to wear masks. 

#3 — Women in Japan wear mask when they aren’t wearing makeup 

Apart from health-related reasons as to why Japanese people wear masks there are more simple reasons as well. Some people in Japan also wear masks on days they don’t have the time to wear makeup or simply to cover up some bad acne. You can easily cover up acne scars, pimples, rashes by wearing a mask – I mean, it is a super simple fix. And I’d be lying if I said I haven’t done the same on SEVERAL occasions. 

#4 — Some Use Mask As A Fashion Accessory 

The Japanese have been wearing masks for so long that it soon became a fashion accessory! For a lot of people in Japan, wearing a mask has nothing to do with health or pollution – it’s now become a fashion statement. According to a 2011 survey by  News Post Seven, a Japanese news site, 30 out of 100 people in Tokyo said that wearing a mask has nothing to do with protecting themselves against pollution. 

You’ll see all sorts of high-fashion masks in the market now. Like the 3-D mask that protrudes, these are fashionable and functional at the same time – one stone, two birds – you know what I mean? 

japanese covid masks

Other than this, there are various themed masks as well. If you like a particular movie or show, you’ll find a mask with the movie’s or show’s themes. Like this Batman-themed face mask for example:

should i wear mask in japan

Some people even say that they wear masks because they like the mysterious look it gives them. For some others, it hides half their face so they like wearing a mask.

Whatever the reason, the point is that, more and more people, today, wear masks for fashion-related reasons than health-related reasons. 

#5 — Some People in Japan Wear Mask To Avoid interactions

Japanese people, in general, are reserved and very conscious of how they are judged. If you’ve interacted with Japanese people, you’ll notice that most of us are quite shy in nature.

why japanese people wear masks

Social anxiety is also one of the reasons why Japanese people wear masks. It’s a simple way to create a separation between yourself and the rest of society. You can easily pass by someone you know without being recognized and avoid the unnecessary small talk.

This is actually one of the reasons why I wear a mask! 

Over the years, seeing Japanese people wearing surgical masks in public on the streets, in the subway or even at the grocery stores has become a common sight. It has become such a popular trend that not wearing a mask out in the streets in Japan is weird.

Eventually, a potential business opportunity was recognized and fashionable masks with designs or brand logos flooded the market. After which, more than a health safety measure, these masks are considered a fashion accessory. 

Metal fan? You’ll find lot’s of studded black masks

why Japanese people wear masks

Want a cute look? You can easily pull off the cute Lolita girl look with the adorable pink masks

should i wear a mask in japan

Or if you’re an anime fan, you’ll also find popular anime-themed masks as well. 

why do japanese cover their mouths

People in Japan Have Been Wearing Masks Way Before The Pandemic COVID-19

People in Japan, were already used to the new norm the rest of the world was adjusting to – wearing a mask all the time. When the Spanish flu hit Japan in the 20th century, Japan saw the death of 390,000 people in the country. Apart from this, Korea and Taiwan saw thousands of deaths too.

When people understood how the flu spread, the people in Japan were educated to wear masks in order to protect others and themselves from spreading or catching the flu. And for those who couldn’t afford masks, educational materials like newspapers were distributed teaching them how to make a mask at home.

When Japan was faced with the next global pandemic – COVID-19, the people in Japan were already wearing masks. While the rest of the world is still adjusting to wearing masks daily, in Japan it’s a common occurrence. And for than just to protect oneself from the flu.

Where to buy Face Masks in Japan

You buy buy face masks pretty much anywhere in Japan. Visit the closest pharmacy, convenience stores, supermarket, or even stores like Don Quijote. You’ll find masks of all types, colors, and designs. You get it in packs of 5, 10, 15, or more. You’ll get a disposable mask for about (or less than) 80JPY.

Why are face masks so popular in Japan?

Everybody in Japan wear masks as a common courtesy to avoid spreading of flu or other symptoms like cold and cough. Japanese people have been wearing a mask since the Spanish flu hit the nation in the 20th century. Other reasons why face masks are so popular in Japan are: to avoid allergies, some even wear it to simply cover up their face, or as a fashion accessory. 

Do the Japanese wear masks? 

People in Japan have been wearing masks before COVID-19 hit the world. This culture has been inculcated in the Japanese people since the Spanish flu hit in the 20th century. Since then the Japanese people have continued wearing masks on a day-to-day basis as this helps avoid allergies, spreading of flus and some other communicable diseases. 

Also Read

  1. Why Learning Japanese is Difficult
  2. Why Japanese Don’t Speak English
  3. Why Japan’s Population is Decreasing
list of japanese electronics companies

List of Japanese Electronics Companies | 8 Amazing Japanese Electronics Brands

Top Japanese Stores In San Francisco

Where To Buy Japanese Products In San Francisco | 7 Best Japanese Stores in San Francisco