為什麼芒果在日本這麼貴?

為什麼芒果在日本那麼貴

你願意花 5000 美元買一對芒果嗎?好吧,在日本,他們會的!現在我知道你想知道為什麼芒果在日本這麼貴?

稍後我會告訴你原因。

不過先給大家介紹一下日本最貴的芒果,其實是世界上最貴的芒果!

日本宮崎芒果是世界上最貴的芒果,售價高達5000美元。特別稱為太陽之蛋(Taiyo no Tamago),它生長在宮崎縣南部的九州島上。

我知道,我知道,“太陽之蛋”聽起來直接來自電子遊戲的特殊任務,但我認為它的名字是因為它美麗的半寶石紅色和半黃橙色皮膚。和里面甜橙果肉。

相信我,這是您有幸擁有的最甜、入口即化、最美味的芒果。

為什麼芒果在日本那麼貴

我一生中的大部分時間都在日本生活,即使我有機會品嚐這些優質宮崎芒果也只有兩次。第一次我太小記不清了,但第二次我是 MIND。吹。它嘗起來像糖果,我的眼裡含著淚水。這就是我能說的。

但是是什麼讓這些芒果價值 4000 到 5000 美元呢?為什麼芒果在日本這麼貴?

日本芒果為什麼這麼貴

宮崎芒果被視為日本的優質水果之一。像日本冠瓜宮崎縣本地種植的日本芒果比從菲律賓、泰國或印度進口的芒果貴。

當地種植的芒果在日本如此昂貴,因為農民們為了種植完美的芒果付出了辛勤的勞動,從而獲得了太陽之蛋 (Taiyo no Tamago) 的特殊榮譽。甚至考慮到這種特殊的區別,最低要求是每個芒果的重量至少應為 350 克,含糖 15%,果皮必須呈深紅色。

日本芒果多少錢

2019 年,一對來自九州的優質宮崎芒果以創紀錄的 500,000 日元拍賣,略低於 5000 美元。 2018 年,這些芒果以 40 萬日元的價格拍賣。

在嚴格的生長條件和質量控制下,只有最好的芒果才能滿足這些標準並進入拍賣。但是,其他芒果的售價仍為 50 美元或更高。這些可能有小凹痕,或者顏色可能不是淺紅色,或者它可能不是最甜的。

有關的: 你會喜歡這些日本便利店的食物。一探究竟!

宮崎芒果在日本是如何種植的?

當芒果還很小的時候,它們被放在一個小網裡,用鐵絲吊在溫室的天花板上。事實上,許多其他發芽的水果都被採摘,以確保少數生長的芒果獲得最大量的營養。

宮崎芒果

當芒果完全成熟時,芒果自然落下時,芒果周圍的網將其接住。芒果像這樣懸掛的另一個原因是這些芒果獲得最大的陽光,從而形成自然、美麗的寶石紅色。

宮崎芒果生長在日本南部九州,因為這裡溫暖月份的氣候非常適合芒果生長。

也許只有這批中的幾個芒果獲得了特殊的區別,並在水果批發市場以如此高的價格拍賣。這些芒果包裝精美,看起來不像是雜貨,更像是禮物。

這也是日本芒果這麼貴的原因之一,其實很多水果一般在日本都是很貴的——水果在日本被認為是價值極高的禮物!

有關的: 你知道為什麼日本人喜歡生魚嗎?在這裡了解一下!

在日本送宮崎芒果作為禮物

芒果在日本如此昂貴的原因還有一個文化參考——實際上日本的大多數水果都是如此。貴族武士會向他們的幕府將軍贈送水果,尤其是橘子或瓜類。

這是一種深深的尊重和欣賞的標誌。這種送禮習俗現在已經在日本文化中根深蒂固。因此,將瓜類、芒果等貴重水果贈送給經理、導師、親朋好友,表示深深的感激。

基本上,除了農夫的辛勤勞作之外,正是因為這種送禮文化,芒果和其他優質水果在日本如此昂貴。事實上,它們甚至是這樣包裝的。

您通常會在水果專賣店甚至禮品店找到它們——單獨包裝,放在絲綢布或乾草上,並用絲/緞帶綁起來——這些優質水果也作為禮物出售。

事實上,收到這些優質宮崎芒果作為禮物的人們通常會考慮將其作為易腐爛的藝術品一樣展示或食用。我的意思是,我理解這個難題——你如何讓自己吃價值 5000 美元的芒果?

如果您曾經在日本,請留意這些優質的宮崎芒果、皇冠甜瓜、白草莓,甚至是葡萄——如果您能買到,它們真的物有所值。或者,如果有人送你一個,知道你很感激!

但是,即使您無法購買這些過於昂貴的優質日本水果,也可以親眼目睹一場拍賣會。這些水果拍賣幾乎總是成為頭條新聞,您可以自豪地說您親眼目睹了它!
此外,即使您無法獲得這些優質的日本水果,也可以在當地水果市場盡情享用水果,那裡的水果價格更實惠。它們可能不是最好看或最好吃的水果,但它們仍然比大多數其他國家的水果好!

另請閱讀:

  1. 蕎麥麵、拉麵和烏冬面在日本都很受歡迎,但哪個是最好的 - 在這裡找到!
  2. 從未去過日本居酒屋?這是你需要知道的一切你訪問一個!
  3. 水果用日語怎麼說?在這裡學習一些基本的日語單詞!
  4. 快來看看這款沖繩超級健康食品吧!
  5. 什麼是白齋
便當日式盒飯

Obento 日本盒飯的藝術

什麼是白菜,日本白菜

什麼是白齋? |白齋在日本受歡迎的三個原因

Why Are Mangoes So Expensive In Japan?

Would you pay $5000 for a pair of mangoes? Well, in Japan, the best of the best mangoes are sold at astronomical prices. Now I know you’re wondering why are mangoes so expensive in Japan? 

I’ll tell you why in a bit.

But first let me introduce you to the most expensive mango in Japan, actually, the most expensive mango in the world! 

Japan’s Miyazaki mangoes are the most expensive mangoes in the world and can sell for as much as $5000. Specifically called the Egg of the Sun (Taiyo no Tamago), it’s grown on the southern island of Kyushu in the Miyazaki prefecture. 

I know, I know, ‘Egg of The Sun’ sounds straight out of a video game special quest but I think it gets its name because of its beautiful half rube red and half yellowish orange skin. And inside sweet orange flesh of the fruit. 

Trust me, this is the sweetest, melt-in-your-mouth, most delicious mango you’d ever have the privilege of having. 

why are mangoes so expensive in Japan

I’ve lived most of my life in Japan, and even I had the opportunity to taste these premium Miyazaki mangos only twice. The first time I was too young to remember but the second time I was MIND. BLOWN. It tasted like candy and I had tears in my eyes. That’s all I can say. 

But what makes these mangoes worth $4000 – $5000? Why are mangoes so expensive in Japan? 

Why are mangoes so expensive in Japan

Miyazaki mangoes are regarded as one of the premium fruits in Japan. Like Japanese crown melons. Locally grown Japanese mangoes from the Miyazaki prefecture are more expensive than imported mangoes from the Philippines, Thailand, or India. 

Locally grown mangoes are so expensive in Japan because of the hard work the farmers put in to grow the perfect mango for it to earn the special distinction of Egg of the Sun (Taiyo no Tamago). To even be considered for this special distinction, the minimum requirements are that the weight of each mango should at least be 350 gm, contain 15% sugar, and the skin must have a deep red color.  

how-much-is-a-mango-in-japan

In 2019, a pair of premium Miyazaki mangoes from Kyushu was auctioned off for a whopping, record-breaking 5,00,000 yen, which is a little less than $5000. And in 2018, these mangoes were auctioned off for 4,00,000 yen.

With strict growing conditions and quality control, only the best of the best mangoes meet these criteria and reach the auction. However, other mangoes are still sold at $50 or more. These might have small dents, or the color may not be a lighter red, or it may not be the sweetest of the lot. 

Related: You will love these Japanese convenience store foods. Check it out!

How are Miyazaki Mangoes Grown in Japan?

When the mangoes are still very small, they are placed in a small net and suspended from the ceiling of the greenhouse with a wire. In fact, many of the other budding fruits are plucked to make sure that a select few of the mangoes growing get the maximum amount of nutrients. 

miyazaki mangoes

The net surrounding the mango catches it as they fall naturally when it’s fully ripe. Another reason why mangoes are suspended like that is so that these mangoes get maximum sunlight to develop that natural, beautiful ruby red color. 

The Miyazaki mangoes are grown in the south of Japan, Kyushu as the climate here during the warmer months is perfect for mangoes growing conditions. 

Maybe only a couple of mangoes from the lot get the special distinction and are auctioned at wholesale fruit markets for such high prices. These mangoes are packed beautifully to look less like a grocery item and more like a gift. 

That’s also one of the reasons why Japanese mangoes are so expensive, in fact a lot of fruits in general, are expensive in Japan – fruits in Japan are regarded as gifts of extremely high value! 

Related: Do you know why Japanese love raw fish? Find out here! 

Giving Miyazaki Mangoes As Gifts In Japan

The reason why mangoes are so expensive in Japan also has a cultural reference – actually this is true for most fruits in Japan. Aristocratic warriors would present fruits, especially tangerines or melons, to their shoguns.

mango japan price

This is a sign of deep respect and appreciation. This gift-giving practice is now ingrained in the Japanese culture. So giving expensive fruits like melons and mangoes to the manager, mentor relatives, and close friends shows deep appreciation. 

Basically, other than the farmer’s hard work, it’s because of this gift-giving culture that mangoes and other premium fruits are so expensive in Japan. In fact they’re even packaged like it. 

You’ll usually find them in specialty fruit stores or even gift shops – individually packed, placed on silk cloth or hay and tied with a silk/satin ribbon – these premium fruits are also marketed as gifts. 

In fact, people who receive these premium Miyazaki mangoes as gifts often contemplate keeping it as display like perishable art or consume it. I mean, I understand this conundrum – how would you get yourself to eat mangoes worth $5000? 

If you’re ever in Japan, look out for these premium Miyazaki mangoes, crown melown, white strawberries, or even grapes – if you can buy one, they’re truly worth it. Or if someone gifts you one, know that you’re highly appreciated! 

But even if you aren’t able to buy these overly expensive premium Japanese fruits, see you can witness an auction. These fruit auctions almost always make the headlines and you can proudly say that you were there to witness it!
And besides, even if you can’t get your hands on these premium Japanese fruits, indulge in fruits at the local fruit markets where the fruits are priced more affordably. They may not be the best-looking or best-tasting fruits but they’re still better than fruits in most other countries!

Also Read:

  1. Soba, Ramen, and Udon are all popular in Japan but which is the best – find out here!
  2. Never been to a Japanese izakaya? Here’s everything you need to know before you visit one!
  3. What would you say for fruits in Japanese? Learn some basic Japanese words to use here!
error: Content is protected !!