小費在日本 2021 |為什麼在日本給小費是不禮貌的?

在日本給小費

每個國家都有自己的潛規則和習俗。就像那樣,在日本給小費被認為是粗魯的——請繼續閱讀以找出原因!

好吧,沒有人,至少在日本沒有!

在日本小費

在日本小費:快速回答 - 不!

日本的小費文化不習慣,這在日本不是很正常的事情。在提供服務方面,日本人有著最高的標準。他們這樣做是因為他們對工作的決心——也就是說,他們覺得沒有必要以小費的形式接受額外的報酬來感到被欣賞。

事實上,許多當地人在給小費時認為這是一種侮辱。您所要做的就是保持禮貌並感謝他們的服務。此外,日本人的工資是公平的,所以他們覺得不需要額外的現金。

在日本給小費不禮貌嗎?

一般情況下,在日本不接受小費。但是很少有例外,並且有一定的方法可以做到。從錢包或錢包中取出錢並直接交給工作人員被視為侮辱。

日本人是勤勞的人,不期待小費,而且在大多數情況下也會禮貌地拒絕小費。因此,當服務員(或女服務員)在餐廳拒絕您的小費時,請不要當真——在日本給小費不是日本文化的一部分!

然而,正如我已經提到的,在日本給小費也有例外。有幾種情況似乎適合給小費(但如果您不確定,最好不要)。日本的小費規則是明確的、傳統的和不言而喻的——在日本沒有關於小費的書面文件列出規則——相反,它是日本文化中吸收的東西,這也是為什麼它很棘手。

給您的導遊小費可能會被接受,他可能會感激地接受。同樣,如果您住在高端日式旅館甚至預算有限的日式旅館並要求提供特殊服務 - 那麼小費可能不會被視為冒犯,只要您在提供服務之前而不是之後支付小費。

在這些情況下,在日本也不希望給小費,如果你感到困惑,最好的辦法是——不要給小費。但是,如果您真的想給小費,那麼有一種方法可以做到。你不能拿出錢包,遞給他們幾張鈔票。

在日本給小費時,將乾淨的鈔票放入裝飾性的信封中,雙手遞給對方並微微低頭。你可以這樣做來表達你的額外感激。或者,如果你提前準備,你可以從你自己的國家帶一個小令牌,我相信你的導遊會很樂意接受的!

相關:入住帶溫泉的日式旅館,享受輕鬆的體驗。這裡是您旅行期間可以享受的箱根最好的溫泉!

在日本應該給多少小費?

由於在日本沒有給小費的習慣,因此預計一開始不會有人給小費。但是如果你真的想給某人小費,比如服務員或出租車司機——那麼你可以決定給多少小費。與美國不同,在日本,您不必支付總賬單的一定比例的小費。

你在日本旅館留下小費嗎?

一般來說,您不會給任何日本酒店員工小費。沒有必要給小費,任何一家日本旅館的工作人員也不會期待它。但是,如果您覺得自己得到了出色的服務並想給小費,那麼您可以在退房時將乾淨的現金放在房間的信封中。

但話又說回來,無論你去日本還是留在日本,這項服務肯定會非常出色。在熱情好客方面,日本人是世界上最好的人之一,提供一流的服務——無論是豪華的 5 星級酒店還是簡陋的民宿(日式住宿加早餐旅館)。

相關:去日本旅遊?我希望攀登富士山在您的行程中。在這裡查看指南!

日本的小費禮賓

在日本,給您的禮賓小費一點都不受歡迎。您在日本的禮賓部將為您提供最好的服務,因為他們的工作要求他們這樣做。

也不建議贈送高價值的禮物。這會給您的禮賓人員和您帶來不舒服的情況。所以最好不要給任何提示。

如果你想表達你的感激之情,你可以給他們一些小而貨幣價值最低的東西——比如來自你所在地區或家鄉的明信片。不過,如果你只是禮貌地口頭表達你的感激之情,那在日本就足夠了!

相關:計劃東京之旅?讓我幫你安排行程!看看這裡!

在日本酒吧小費

在日本的酒吧或日本居酒屋給小費也不受歡迎——至少在傳統的小費方式中。不要因為服務員和居酒屋或酒保的出色服務而給他們小費——在日本,給小費被認為很奇怪。

但是,您可以通過以非金錢的方式給小費來表達您的感激之情——例如,例如,多買一輪飲料,然後向酒保提供一杯以表達您的感激之情。是的,在你問之前,調酒師可以在工作中喝酒(我們在日本很酷!)。

日本的小費滑雪指南

在日本給導遊小費也不是必要的,但如果你想給他們小費,也不算粗魯。日本的小費導遊是日本小費的例外之一。

但請確保將乾淨的現金放入信封中,並用雙手將其交給導遊並在這樣做時輕輕鞠躬。在任何情況下,您都不應直接從錢包中取出現金。

相關:在櫻花季節計劃您的東京之旅,以獲得驚人的體驗。在這裡查看預報!

你在東京小費多少?

在日本付小費並不常見,所以在東京付小費也不常見。在您訪問東京期間最好不要給小費,以避免任何混亂或混亂。

如果你是美國人,你幾乎會給服務行業的任何人小費。這在其他國家也很常見。但在日本,服務業的收入相當可觀,所以小費文化從未在日本紮根。

為什麼小費文化在美國和其他國家很流行,可能是因為餐廳服務員或司機的工資很低。但在日本,情況並非如此。

通常情況下,如果你在日本餐館給小費,服務員會跑到你身後,以為你忘記找零了。這就是為什麼,最好的辦法不是為您已經支付的東京服務小費!

我知道這可能看起來令人困惑,因為在美國給服務員小費是很常見的做法。事實上,在美國不給服務員小費是不禮貌的。

相關:想在東京觀看激動人心的相撲比賽嗎?這是您如何獲得門票的方法!

日本沖繩小費

在日本或該國任何地方,包括沖繩在內,都沒有給小費的習慣。它通常不受歡迎,而且經常被拒絕。有時,他們可能會接受小費以免冒犯您,但一般規則是不提供任何小費。

把它想像成,你去一家超市並決定給收銀員小費。收銀員肯定會感到困惑,因為這裡根本沒有必要給小費,因為收銀員只是在做他的工作!

這正是日本人的心態和工作文化的樣子。他們不覺得有必要僅僅因為他們在做他們的工作就需要客戶支付額外的費用。給小費不是日本文化的一部分,所以工作人員也從不指望給小費。

**給小費時的日本工作人員**

在日本只需要禮貌的 arigato(謝謝)和鞠躬就可以表達您的欣賞和感激之情!

相關:在日本期間與您的朋友和家人保持聯繫。以下是在東京購買旅遊 SIM 卡的方法!

日本京都小費

日本京都也不接受小費。與給小費是常態的美國文化不同,在日本,給小費被視為粗魯甚至可能被視為侮辱。因此,如果您決定在日本付小費,請務必小心。如果您只是從錢包裡拿出一疊現金,您要給小費的人(無論是餐廳服務員還是日本的理髮師)可能會受到冒犯。

最好的辦法是從你的國家帶一些小而貨幣價值最低的東西——比如明信片——作為感激之情離開。或者,您可以將一些鈔票放入信封中,然後將其出示給對方——再次提醒,要小心給誰小費——並不是每個人都喜歡它。如果你不確定,最好的辦法是跳過給小費,直接說謝謝(如果你用日語說,加分!)

相關:如果在東京有一件你不能錯過的事情,那就是馬里奧賽車街頭之旅,這是你需要知道的一切!

日本的小費規則

為什麼日本人不給小費?

在日本付小費不是常態。它從來不是他們文化的一部分,因為它被認為是粗魯的,或者只是很奇怪。日本人會為您提供最好的服務,因為他們是努力工作的人。但作為回報,他們想要的只是受到尊重和尊嚴的對待。你可以通過簡單的禮貌和口頭表達你的感激來表達你的感激——說 arigato-gozaimasu

你在日本給送貨司機小費嗎

在日本,您不會給送貨司機小費。日本文化不承認給小費是一種表示讚賞的方式,但它被認為是粗魯的。雖然在某些情況下,這個人可能會接受它。因此,您可以嘗試給送貨司機小費,但如果他不接受,請不要感到驚訝!

你在日本給優步吃小費嗎

在日本給小費被認為是不禮貌的,所以在日本期間避免給小費——包括你的優步吃送貨員。最好的做法是禮貌並在他們下訂單時說謝謝!

你在日本給美髮師小費嗎

在日本,您不必給理髮師小費,這不是您的期望,也不會被接受。相反,在日本給小費是不受歡迎的。

日本什麼時候可以接受小費?

大多數情況下不是。但是,如果您參加了導遊服務,您可以通過將一些錢放入 shugi bukoro 或錢信封中,給您的導遊 10% 的小費。高檔餐廳和旅館可能會加收10-15%的小費,賬單上會明確標註。您也可以將此視為小費(即使您不選擇付款或不付款)。如果您有機會與藝妓共進私人晚餐,給小費是可以接受的。再次,保持尊重,將小費放入乾淨的信封中,然後用兩隻手輕輕鞠躬交出。

在日本你會給出租車司機小費嗎?

在日本,你不會給出租車司機小費。但是說時間晚了,下雨貓狗,你的出租車司機非常有幫助。然後有一種方法可以做到這一點而不會讓它變得明顯。到達目的地後,比如說您的出租車費用高達 4,500 日元,您可以交給司機 5,000 日元(並說明您沒有零錢)並禮貌地要求司機保留零錢。

另請閱讀:

  1. 無法決定在日本的住宿地點?這是日本旅館和酒店之間的比較
  2. 入住東京膠囊旅館,獲得獨特體驗
  3. 這些日本7-11的美味小吃你一定要嚐嚐!
  4. 以下是日本火車站附近獨行旅客的一些經濟型住宿選擇。一探究竟!
最好的日本卸妝油

2021 年最佳日本卸妝油

日本人為什麼穿和服

日本人為什麼要穿和服?

Tipping In Japan 2020 | Why Is It Rude To Tip In Japan?

Every country has its own unspoken rules and customs. Just like that, tipping in Japan is considered rude – read on to find out why!

Well nobody, at least not in Japan!

Why don’t people tip in Japan?

Tipping culture in Japan isn’t customary, it’s not something that’s normal in Japan. The Japanese have the highest standards when it comes to providing a service. And they do it because of their determination towards their job – which is to say that, they don’t feel the need to accept extra payment in the form of tips to feel appreciated. In fact, many locals take it as an insult when tipped. All you have to do is be polite and thank them for their services. Also, Japanese people are paid fair wages so they don’t feel the need for the extra cash.

Tipping In Japan

Is it rude to tip in Japan?

As a general rule, tipping in Japan is not accepted. But there are few exceptions and there’s a certain way of doing it. Taking money out of your wallet or purse and handing it to the staff directly is considered as an insult. 

The Japanese are hardworking people and do not expect a tip and in most cases will politely refuse the tip as well. So don’t take it personally when a waiter (or waitress) refuses your tip at a restaurant – tipping in Japan is just not a part of the Japanese culture!

tipping concierge japan

However, like I already mentioned, there are exceptions to tipping in Japan. There are a few situations where it might seem appropriate to tip (but if you’re not sure then better not). Tipping rules in Japan are unambiguous, conventional, and unspoken – there are no written document listing rules to tipping in Japan – rather it’s something imbibed in the Japanese culture, which is also why it’s tricky. 

Tipping your tour guide may be accepted and he might accept it with gratitude. Same way if you’re staying at a high-end ryokan or even a budgeted one and ask for a special service – then tipping may not be taken as an offense, as long as you tip before the service is provided and not after. 

In these situations, again, tipping in Japan is not expected and if you’re confused the best thing to do is – not give a tip. However, if you really want to give a tip then there’s a way to do it. You cannot whip out your wallet and hand them a few bills. 

When tipping in Japan, put clean bills in a decorative envelope and hand it over to the person with both your hands and bow your head slightly. You can do this to show your extra appreciation. Alternatively, if you prepare ahead of time you can bring a small token from your own country and I’m sure your tour guide will accept it happily!

Related: Check in to a ryokan with an onsen for a relaxing experience. Here are the best onsens in Hakone you can enjoy during your trip!

How Much Should I Tip In Japan?

Since tipping in Japan is not customary, nobody is expected to be tipped in the first place. But if you really want to tip someone, say a waiter or taxi driver – then it’s on you to decide how much to tip. Unlike in the US, you don’t have to tip a certain percentage of your total bill in Japan. 

Do You Leave Tip In Japanese Hotel?

Generally speaking, you do not leave a tip for any Japanese hotel staff. There’s no need to tip and the staff at any Japanese inn isn’t expecting it either. But if you feel like you’ve received an exceptional service and want to tip then you can leave clean bills of cash in an envelope in your room when you check out. 

tipping in okinawa

But then again, anywhere you go or stay in Japan, the service is most definitely going to be exceptional. When it comes to hospitality, the Japanese are one of the best in the world and provide first-class service – be it a fancy 5-star hotel or a humble Minshuku (Japanese version of bed and breakfast). 

Related: Travelling to Japan? I hope climbing the Mt Fuji is in your itinerary. Check out the guide here!

Tipping Concierge in Japan

Tipping your concierge in Japan is not appreciated at all. Your concierge in Japan will give you his or her best service because their job requires them to do so. It’s not recommended to give a gift of high monetary value either. It will create an uncomfortable situation for both your concierge and you. So it’s best not give any tips. 

If you want to show your gratitude, you can offer them something small and of minimal monetary value – like a postcard from your area or hometown. However, if you only politely and verbally express your gratitude, that’s more than enough in Japan!

Related: Planning a Tokyo trip? Let me help you with the itinerary! Check it out here!

Tipping in Japan Bars

Tipping in bars in Japan or a Japanese Izakaya is also frowned upon – at least in the conventional way of tipping. Don’t tip the waiting staff and the Izakaya or the bartender for their exceptional service – tipping is considered to be weird in Japan. 

But you can show your gratitude by tipping in non-monetary ways – like, for example, buy an extra round of drinks and offer one to the bartender to show your appreciation. And yes, before you ask, bartenders are allowed to drink on the job (we’re cool like that here in Japan!). 

Tipping Ski Guides in Japan

Tipping your tour guides in Japan is not necessary either but if you want to tip them it’s not considered rude either. Tipping tour guides in Japan is one of the exceptions when it comes to tipping in Japan.

But make sure you slip clean bills of cash into an envelope and present it to your tour guide with both hands and bow slightly when you do so. In no circumstances, should you give cash directly out of your wallet. 

Related: Plan your Tokyo trip during the Cherry Blossom season for an amazing experience. Check the forecast here!

How Much Do You Tip In Tokyo?

Tipping in Japan is not common practice and so tipping in Tokyo is not a common practice either. It’s best to not tip during your Tokyo visit to avoid any confusion or chaos.

If you’re an American, you’d tipping almost anybody in the service industry. This is common in other countries as well. But in Japan, the service industry is pretty well paid so the tipping culture never took root in Japan.

Why tipping culture is popular in America and other countries is probably because of how underpaid the restaurant wait staff or drivers are. But that’s not the case in Japan.

More often than not, if you leave a tip at Japanese restaurants, the waiter or waitress will come running behind you, thinking you forgot the change. Which is why, the best thing to is not tip for services in Tokyo you’re already paying for!

tipping in kyoto

I know it might seem confusing since in the US it’s common practice to tip your waiter. In fact, it’s considered rude if you don’t leave tips for the waiter in the US.

Related: Want to catch the exciting sumo match in Tokyo? Here’s how you can get the tickets!

Tipping in Okinawa Japan

Tipping in Japan or any part of the country is not customary, including Okinawa. It’s usually frowned upon and, more often than not, rejected. Sometimes, they may accept the tip so as to not offend you but the general rule is to not give any tips. 

Think of it as, you go to a supermarket and decide to tip the cashier. The cashier is definitely going to be confused because tipping here is not necessary at all, as the cashier is only doing his job!

That’s exactly what the Japanese mindset and work culture is like. They do not feel the need to be paid extra by the customer just because they’re doing their job. Tipping is not a part of the Japanese culture and so the working staff never expects to be tipped either. 

**The Japanese staff when you tip**

A polite arigato (thanks) and a bow is all that’s required to show your appreciation and gratitude in Japan!

Related: Stay connected with your friends and family while in Japan. Here’s how you can buy a tourist SIM Card in Tokyo!

Tipping in Kyoto Japan

Tipping in Kyoto, Japan is not accepted either. Unlike the American culture where tipping is the norm, in Japan tipping is seen as crude or may be even taken as an insult. So be careful if you decide to tip in Japan. The person you’re tipping (be it a waiter at a restaurant or a hairdresser in Japan) may take offense if you just give a wad of cash out of your wallet. 

The best thing to do is, bring something small and of least monetary value – like a postcard – from your country to leave as a token of gratitude. Or you can place some bills in an envelope and present it to the person – here, again, be careful who you tip – not everybody appreciates it. If you’re not sure the best thing is to skip giving the tip and simply say thank you (extra points if you say it in Japanese!) 

Related: If there’s one thing you cannot miss while in Tokyo it’s the Mario Kart street tour, Here’s everything you need to know about it!

Do you tip taxi drivers in Japan?

You don’t tip taxi drivers in Japan. But say it was late and raining cats and dogs, and your taxi driver was extremely helpful.

tipping in japan 2020

Then there’s a way you can do it without making it obvious. Once you’ve reached your destination and, say, your taxi charges come up to 4,500 JPY, you can hand the driver 5,000 JPY (and mention that you don’t have change) and politely request the driver to keep the change. 

Tipping Rules In Japan: FAQs

#1 — Why do Japanese people not tip?

Tipping in Japan is not a norm. It was never a part of their culture as it’s considered rude, or just plain weird. The Japanese will offer you their best services because they’re hard working people. But in return, all they want is to be treated with respect and dignity. You can show your appreciation by simply being polite and verbally expressing your gratitude – say arigato-gozaimasu

#2 — Do you tip delivery drivers in Japan

You do not tip delivery drivers in Japan. The Japanese culture doesn’t recognise tipping as a way of showing appreciation but it is rather considered rude. Though in some cases, the person may accept it. So you can try and give the delivery driver a tip but don’t be surprised if he doesn’t accept it! 

#3 — Do you tip uber eats in Japan

Tipping in Japan is considered to be rude, so avoid tipping while your in Japan – including your Uber eats delivery person. The best thing to do is be polite and say thank you when they drop off your order!

#4 — Do you tip hairdressers in Japan

You don’t have to tip your hairdressers in Japan, it’s not expected of you and nor will it be accepted. Instead, tipping in Japan is frowned upon. 

#5 — When tipping is acceptable in Japan?

Is most cases it’s not. However, if you’ve taken a guided tour you can give a 10% tip to your tour guide by placing some money in a shugi bukoro or money envelope. High-end restaurants and ryokans may add 10-15% gratuity charges which will be clearly labeled in the bill. You can consider this as a tip as well (even though you’re not choosing to pay or not). If you get a chance to have a private dinner with a Geisha, it’s acceptable to tip. Again, be respectful and place the tip in a clean envelope and hand it over with two hands and a slight bow.

Also Read:

  1. Can’t decide where to stay in Japan? Here’s a comparison between Japanese Ryokans and Hotels
  2. For a unique experience check in to a capsule hotel in Tokyo
  3. You have to try these delicious snacks from 7-eleven in Japan!
  4. Here are some budget accommodation options for solo traveler near train stations in Japan. Check it out!
error: Content is protected !!